Mission Call Opening

I received my call on September 3rd, 2013.

 I had been waiting for a few weeks and I was anxious to see where in the world I would be going. The leaders of our church assign us future missionaries to different states and countries across the globe as inspired from the Lord.

We go where the LORD wants us to go. We go where we will touch people in ways that others can’t. We also will be touched by the people we meet and teach.

So, where was I to go?

I guess I should backtrack and tell you my backstory behind WHY I decided to go on a mission.

Over a year ago, I had a complete breakdown and called my dad. Everything that could go wrong, had gone wrong– school, boys, friends, cracked my cell phone screen. Nothing seemed to be going right for me.

When I was talking to my dad, he said maybe I should come home and prepare for a mission.

“Yeah right Dad. Missions are for ugly sisters who don’t get married.” Harsh. But that was my thought. Seriously, that’s what it seemed like the trend was in the Mormon culture, especially at BYU.

Well, that Saturday at General Conference, Thomas S. Monson announced that the missionary age was lowered for sisters to 19 and elders to 18. What a slap in the face by Heavenly Father!

Well. I was NOT ready. Let alone even worthy at the time to go on a mission. I cleaned up my act. Made some major changes. And did some SERIOUS thinking.

I would say, ” Well after this semester if I’m not dating anyone….” or “I’ll think about it after summer, but I will probably be dating someone by then…”

Well the boys came and went, NONE of them stayed. The thought of a mission would NOT get out of my head and it seriously ate my me all day every day to talk to my bishop about going.

Well I talked to my bishop, Bishop Freeze, oh how I LOVE Bishop Freeze. He told me that I would make an excellent missionary but that I needed to fast and pray about it first. That week I was an EFY counselor in Columbia, MO. After that week and fasting and praying, I KNEW that I needed to go on a mission. I knew that by spreading the gospel and helping others, I was the happiest and that is where I needed to be.

After that I started my papers and I was ready to go!

So back to September 3rd.

I waited all day. My friends and family came to support me at my mission call opening. I was set on that I was going stateside, North Dakota, or to Europe ( blonde hair blue eyes it only makes sense, right?)

WRONG.

Cuernavaca Mexico!!!!!

Holy cow, what!? I didn’t even know how to pronounce Cuernavaca. A short little blonde girl in Mexico? That just didn’t seem right. Apparently they just started sending sisters to Mexico, I am one of the FIRST.

At first I was just super excited. Then I started to go back and forth of if I wanted to go.

After a fun filled semester with my new friends I was starting to get FOMO ( Fear of Missing Out). I would miss my best friends wedding, more friend’s weddings, babies being born, etc. People told me scary stories of Mexico and how I would miss out on so much. I started to wonder if I would ever date anyone since I will be almost 23 when I get back or if I missed my chance.

But I prayed about it and when I talk about it, it feels right. I don’t know how to explain it, but it does. I am SO excited. I know it is where I am supposed to be. When I think about it, I wouldn’t be any more fit for anywhere BUT Mexico.

I know that it where I am supposed to be. I know that this church is true and I can’t wait to spread the gospel to those who need and want to hear it. Mexico won’t know what hit them when I come!

Only a couple more weeks!

Keep up on my blog posts of my weekly emails. Don’t you worry, they will be exciting. I’ll make sure of it.

I love you all.

XOXO
mission call

Leave a Reply

